Turning Leftovers into Delicious Pizzas

My pizza creations seem to be my post popular posts on Instagram, so I thought it was about time I did a blog post on pizza! I never have the same pizza twice. I don’t buy things to put on them either. To me, pizza is a great way to use up any leftovers in the fridge or freezer. I have come up with some delicious toppings this way and, I have also saved money because I am using leftovers and reducing my waste.

Here are some leftovers and how I would turn them into a tasty pizza. I preheat the oven to 180° and bake until cheese melts and the base is crispy

Leftover Chicken Satay

  • 2 tablespoons homemade tomato paste
  • small handful baby spinach leaves
  • 1/4 red onion, sliced thinly
  • shredded leftover chicken (if you don’t have any chicken leftover, 1/4 store bought roast chicken is fine)
  • 1/3 cup leftover satay sauce
  • 1/2 cup grated cheese

Spread tomato paste evenly over the base and top with the spinach, onion and chicken. Drizzle over satay sauce and top with cheese. Bake until cheese melts and base is golden.

Even if I don’t have any chicken left from the satay chicken, I freeze the leftover sauce.

Leftover Chicken Caesar Salad (or IQS Chicken Caesar Burger)

  • 1/3 cup pureed sweet potato and pumpkin ( I always have portions of pureed sweet potato and pumpkin in the freezer and this makes a fabulous pizza sauce instead of the standard tomato paste)
  • small handful baby spinach leaves
  • 1/4 cup crispy bacon pieces
  • shredded chicken
  • 3-4 anchovies
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan
  • 1/4 cup grated cheese
  • 1/4 cup mayo
  • 1/4 avocado – mashed

Spread the puree evenly over the base and top with spinach, bacon, chicken and anchovies. Sprinkle cheese over and place in the oven until the cheese melts and base is browning. Take out once cooked, drizzle mayo over and then top with a dollop of mashed avocado.

Bacon and Egg Pizza

  • 2 tablespoons homemade tomato paste
  • small handful baby spinach leaves
  • 1 mushroom sliced thinly
  • 1 rasher of bacon, sliced and cooked (try not to cook until crispy)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup grated cheese

Spread tomato paste over base and place in the oven for 5 mins. Take out and top with spinach, mushrooms and bacon. Crack the eggs on top and then sprinkle over the cheese. Bake in the oven for another 8-12 minutes, keeping an eye on the egg. Remove once the egg is cooked to your liking (I keep the yolk runny so I can spread it over the pizza)

Here are some other quick topping ideas with bits and pieces that may be found in the fridge or freezer:

  • ham, green chilli (sliced lengthways), egg (cracked on top)
  • pulled pork, lamb or beef, leftover roast veg, crumbled feta
  • mince, chilli or jalapeno, cheese, top with mashed avocado and a dollop of natural yoghurt when cooked.

 

 

One thought on “Turning Leftovers into Delicious Pizzas

Leave a Reply

