Chemical Free Skincare

I have suffered from acne since my early teens and as a result, became incredibly self conscious about it and, more often than not, was too embarrassed to leave the house. I have spent a fortune on ‘miracle’ products that claim to clear your skin and have you looking fantastic forever. I’ve been put on Roaccutane, contraceptive pills designed to clear your skin and used countless products that left me broke and disappointed.

The acne continued into adulthood and my confidence continued to dive. I couldn’t leave the house without make-up, my ex-husband even decided he didn’t want to have children with me in case they got my skin (one reason why he’s an ex!). I hated being a grown woman and still suffering from problem skin.

It wasn’t until I started the I Quit Sugar program that I started to think about the products I was using on my body as well as what I was eating. I began looking into chemical free alternatives and making my own products and have since noticed a huge difference in my skin. I have less outbreaks, healthier looking skin and can even leave the house without make-up now!

Below are the products I have found that work for me. My recipes are for my skin, which is combination skin. Dry around my checks and nose, but oily on my chin and forehead. Of course, there’s no point in caring for your skin on the outside if you don’t look after yourself on the inside too, so eating well and drinking lots of water is a must.

Cleansing

I cleanse with a Norwex Body Cloth and water. Yep…just water. I used to get so annoyed when I’d read an interview with a model and they would say they washed their face with water. Whaaat?? You put no effort into looking after your skin and you look like that?? It didn’t make sense! But, now I understand. Our skin just doesn’t need all the crap that is marketed to us. In fact, it often does more harm than good. Drying out or, sometimes, burning our skin.

Why the Norwex Body Cloth? These gentle cloths are perfect for all skin types, including sensitive skin. They have the ability to remove up to 99% of bacteria from your skin when used correctly. They are also great for exfoliation! So, how do I use it? I simply wet my face and cleanse with a damp cloth…that’s it. For exfoliating, wring the cloth out so it’s a bit drier. Once I have used the cloth for a few days, I just put it in the wash and line dry it. All Norwex Body Cloths contain BacLock which is an antibacterial agent that is designed to prevent odor from bacteria and mold/mildew growth in the cloth. I also use these cloths when bathing my children which means we rarely need to use soap and their skin remains beautifully soft and smooth.

Moisturising

Because my skin is quite dry, I need to moisturise day and night. After a fair bit of research, I came up with below concoction to help hydrate my skin. I love the way this feels on my skin and I’m convinced the essential oils that I use have played a part in reducing the redness that I get on my nose. At one point I had the nose of an alcoholic – Rudolph red and very dry. I use this after cleansing, and only a small amount.

  • 50ml dropper bottle
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 7 drops Lavender essential oil
  • 7 drops Geranium essential oil
  • 7 drops Frankincense essential oil
  • 10 drops Myrrh essential oil
  • Top with Jojoba oil

Jojoba oil is a purely natural oil that hydrates skin. As we age our natural sebum production decreases which means that dry skin, fine lines and sagging starts to occur. The Jojoba plant produces wax esters identical to our own sebum which locks moisture in to keep our skin looking healthy and hydrated. Jojoba oil is naturally gentle making it perfect for all skin types. It can help heal acne, reduce breakouts, hydrate dry skin, soothe sensitive skin and balance oily skin.

Olive oil contains three major antioxidants: vitamin E, polyphenols, and phytosterols which may help protect the skin from premature aging. The vitamin E in the olive oil helps restore skin smoothness and protect against UV light. It also doesn’t clog pores and is able to deeply penetrate the skin.

Lavender oil is my go-to oil for almost everything because it it so universal. Among many things it is also useful for skin irritations such as acne and can help reduce scarring.

Geranium oil probably isn’t my most favourite smelling oil, but I use it in all my skincare recipes because it is great for acne and helps promote the appearance of clear and healthy skin.

Frankincense oil supports healthy cellular function and reduces the appearance of skin imperfections.

Myrrh oil is an expensive oil but worth every cent in my opinion. It soothes skin and promotes a smooth, youthful looking complexion by helping to reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles. I only saw a reduction in the redness on my nose once I started adding Myrrh to my skincare recipes.

I believe it is important to know that what you are using on yourself is the real deal. There are so many essential oils out there, it can be hard to know which are genuine or not so please do your research and be sure you are using quality essential oils, not the cheap watered down stuff. You’ll be wasting your money otherwise.

Face Scrub

This face scrub recipe is courtesy of one of my wine girls, Eve. She is also chemical free and makes all of her own products. This is incredibly easy and feels wonderful on your skin.

  • 1/2 cup coconut milk powder
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 tablespoon coffee beans

Combine coconut milk powder and oats and blitz until it is a smooth powder. Remove and set aside. Blitz coffee beans until gritty – you don’t want it too gritty as it might be too harsh on the skin. Mix with the milk powder and oats mixture and store in a sealed container. To use, just use a teaspoon sized amount, mix with water and apply to face. Wash off with a damp cloth.

You could also try this with cardamon pods or a cinnamon stick.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chemical Free Skincare

    1. Jojoba feels so lovely on my skin Rani! Definitely give it a go. Finding the right combo is really a lot of trail and error and research. I tried about 5 different combinations before I was happy with this one.

      Like

Leave a Reply

