Rustic Plum and Apple Crumble

I’ve always looked at the beautiful, creative dishes that other bloggers share and thought that there is no way I could do that. I’m the type of person who always needs a recipe to cook a meal. Once I’ve used the recipe I can get creative, but I need that recipe as a starting point.

However, this blog seems to have given me some confidence and motivation to give this recipe creating thing a go. That and the ridiculous amount of plums our tree is giving us this season!

So, here goes! To fit with my clean living and I Quit Sugar, my recipes will be healthy (or healthier!) and low sugar. Whenever I can I use my Thermomix to cook, so all instructions will be for the Thermie. I’m sure every recipe can be made without the Thermomix but since I only have time to create and test when my little ones are asleep, I won’t be able to provide non-Thermomix cooking instructions.

Rustic Plum and Apple Crumble

Serves 8 – This recipe can easily be halved. If you do halve it, reduce the cooking time by 20%

Ingredients

  • 400g red or green apples – washed, peeled, quartered and cored
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 30g water
  • 400g ripe plums – washed, stoned and quartered
  • 140g almonds
  • 80g walnuts
  • 40g desiccated coconut
  • 80g oats
  • 50g rice malt syrup (RMS)
  • 60g butter

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 180°
  • Add quartered apples to the bowl – 3sec/sp3
  • Add cinnamon and water to apple – 80°/4min/rev/sp1
  • Empty apple mixture into baking dish
  • Stir quartered plums through apple mixture
  • In a clean bowl, add almonds – 3sec/sp5
  • Add walnuts, desiccated coconut and oats – 3sec/sp5
  • Add RMS and butter – 25sec/rev/sp3 or until combined
  • Top apple and plum mixture with crumble
  • Bake for 25-30mins or until golden
  • Serve with double cream, whipped cream or natural yoghurt.

You might end up with some leftover crumble mixture – spread on a baking tray and bake in the oven until golden. This is great on top of yoghurt in the morning!

Enjoy! xo

2 thoughts on “Rustic Plum and Apple Crumble

Leave a Reply

